

# DRAFT MINUTES SEPTEMBER 26, 2012

The Mid-Connecticut Project Municipal Advisory Council (MAC) held a special meeting on September 26, 2012, at the CRRA Trash Museum, 211 Murphy Road, Hartford, Connecticut. In attendance were:

# **VOTING MEMBERS AND PROXIES**

TOTAL MEMBERS AND I KOMES				
Town	First Name	<u>Last Name</u>	Title/Proxy	
Avon	Richard	Barlow	Proxy for Town Manager Brandon Robertson	
Barkhamsted	Susan	Dyer	Proxy for First Selectman Donald Stein	
Bloomfield	William	Hogan	Delegate for Mayor Sydney Schulman	
Canton	Richard	Barlow	First Selectman	
Chester	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Edmund Meehan	
Colebrook	Thomas	McKeon	First Selectman	
Cornwall	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Gordon Ridgway	
Durham	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Laura Francis	
East Granby	James	Hayden	First Selectman (joined meeting at 8:40 a.m.)	
Essex	Susan	Malan	Delegate for First Selectman Norman Needleman	
Farmington	Richard	Barlow	Proxy for Town Manager Kathleen Eagen	
Glastonbury	Michael	Bisi	Delegate for Town Manager Richard Johnson	
Granby	John	Adams	First Selectman	
Haddam	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Paul DeStefano	
Killingworth	Catherine	Iino	First Selectwoman	
Lyme	Ralph	Eno	First Selectman	
Manchester	Brooks	Parker	Delegate for Town Manager Scott Shanley	
Marlborough	Catherine	Gaudinski	First Selectman	
Middlefield	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Jon Brayshaw	
Naugatuck	Sheila	Baummer	Delegate for Mayor Robert Mezzo	
Norfolk	Susan	Dyer	First Selectman / M-CPMAC Chair	
North Branford	Bonnie	Therrien	Interim Town Manager	
Old Lyme	Bonnie	Reemsnyder	First Selectwoman	
Rocky Hill	Larrye	deBear	Delegate for Town Manager Barbara Gilbert	
Roxbury	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Barbara Henry	
Salisbury	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Curtis Rand	
Sharon	Ralph	Eno	Proxy for First Selectman Robert Loucks	
Simsbury	Thomas	Roy	Delegate for First Selectman Mary Glassman	
Torrington	Susan	Dyer	Proxy for Mayor Ryan Bingham	
Wethersfield	Jeff	Bridges	Town Manager	

# **CRRA MANAGEMENT:**

Thomas D. Kirk, President

Paul Nonnenmacher, Director of Public Affairs, CRRA Liaison Peter W. Egan, Director of Operations & Environmental Affairs Mid-Connecticut Project Municipal Advisory Committee DRAFT Minutes of September 26, 2012 Page 2 of 3

Jim Perras, Government Affairs Liaison Marianne L. Carcio, Executive Assistant

#### OTHER MUNICIPAL PERSONNEL:

Richard Johnson, Town of Glastonbury Barbara Bertrand, Town of Windsor Locks Bill Smith, Town of Granby

### **MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC:**

Cheryl Thibeault, Covanta
Mark Bobman, Bristol Resource Recovery Facility Operating Committee
John Pizzimenti, USA Hauling & Recycling
Maura Mastrony, Clendenen & Shea
Jim Sandler, Sandler & Mara
Jennifer March-Wackers, Central Connecticut Solid Waste Authority

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Municipal Advisory Committee Chairman Susan Dyer called the meeting to order at 8:36 a.m.

#### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Those in attendance stood and recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### 3. ROLL CALL

**Mr. Nonnenmacher** called the roll and informed the chair that with 29 members in attendance or represented by delegates or proxies there was a quorum.

## 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

**Mr. Eno** moved to approve the minutes of the meeting of January 23, 2012. **Mr. Bisi** seconded. The motion passed unanimously with Ms. Iino, Mr. Roy and Ms. Reemsnyder abstaining.

**Mr. Hayden** joined the meeting at 8:40 a.m.

# 5. MID-CONNECTICUT PROJECT UPDATE

**Mr. Kirk** summarized the reports in Sections 2-6 of the agenda package.

## 6. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

**Mr. Kirk** discussed items including a shortfall in waste, possible changes in the state solid-waste hierarchy, the spot waste market and pricing, legal and regulatory matters and items CRRA is considering proposing in the 2013 legislative session.

**Mr. Roy** left the meeting at 9:42 a.m.

### 7. PUBLIC COMMENT

Chairman Dyer offered members of the public the opportunity to address the MAC. No one did so.

## 8. ADJOURNMENT

Mid-Connecticut Project Municipal Advisory Committee DRAFT Minutes of September 26, 2012 Page 3 of 3

There being no further business, **Ms. Therrien** moved to adjourn. **Mr. deBear** seconded. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 9:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Nonnenmacher

Director of Public Affairs

**CRRA** Liaison