

Mid-Connecticut Project Municipal Advisory Committee Special Meeting July 22, 2009, 8:30 a.m. CRRA Trash Museum DRAFT MINUTES

Because this is a special meeting, under state open-meetings laws only those items on the agenda may be discussed.

1. Call to order - Chairman Timothy Griswold

In attendance were Thomas Kirk, Paul Nonnenmacher, Marianne Carcio, James Bolduc, Michael Tracey, Peter Egan, Barbara Dillon and Raymond O'Brien of CRRA; Richard Sawitzke of Simsbury; Steven Wawruck of Windsor Locks; Ron Van Winkle and John Phillips of West Hartford; Stewart MacMillan of Madison; Richard J. Cabral of Killingworth; Michael J. Bisi of Glastonbury; William Smith of Granby; Susan Dyer of Norfolk; Thomas McKeon of Colebrook; Donald Stein of Barkhamsted; Keith J. Robbins of Winchester; Michael Stupinski of Ellington; Janice Ehle/Meyer of the Connecticut Estuary Regional Planning Agency; John Adams of Granby; John Elsesser of Coventry; Chuck Frigon and Roy Cavanaugh of Watertown; James Sandler of the Metropolitan District; Melody Currey of East Hartford; John Salamone of Newington; Jason McCoy of Vernon; Bonnie Therrien of Wethersfield; James Hayden of East Granby; David Panagore and Marilynn Cruz-Aponte of Hartford; and Matthew Galligan of South Windsor.

Stewart MacMillan, Richard Sawitzke, and John Adams presented letters of delegation per Section 3.2 of the proposed by-laws. Michael Bisi had been named by Town Manager Richard Johnson as his delegate in an e-mail to P. Nonnenmacher dated July 17, 2009.

- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Public comment

Members of the public wishing to address the Municipal Advisory Committee may speak for up to three minutes.

There was no public comment. Chairman Griswold declared the public comment period closed.

4. Approval of minutes of April 22, 2009, special meeting (Section 1 of package)

Barlow moved to approve the minutes with a correction with regard to his comment under item 6, TRASH DIVERSIONS AND CONTRACT VIOLATIONS, to clarify his comment to read "Mr. Barlow asked what incentives towns like Hartford that have large amounts of waste and may not need to enforce flow control in order to meet their minimum commitments."

Second – unknown

Vote - all but McKeon, Dyer, Stein, McCoy, Hayden, Elsesser, W. Smith, who abstained.

5. Administration of Municipal Advisory Committee

a. Adoption of proposed bylaws (Section 2 of package)

R. Cabral moved to adopt resolution as proposed. **B.** Therrien seconded. **R.** Barlow offered three amendments (see separate sheet): J. McCoy seconded the amendments.

J. Elsesser pointed out that some towns, such as Coventry, do not have a chief elected official. J. Adams suggested the proposed by-laws should allow for the chief executive official to serve as MAC member if there is no chief elected official. Barlow accepted the suggestion as a friendly amendment.

Vote on amendments – unanimous.

M. Currey moved to amend the bylaws to change the quorum requirement in Section 4.6 to 18 members. J. Elsesser seconded.

Vote on amendment – unanimous.

Vote on bylaws as amended – unanimous.

i. Nomination and election of vice-chairman

J. Adams nominated S. Wawruck as vice-chairman. J. McCoy seconded. There being no other nominations, Chairman Griswold called for a vote, which was unanimous.

Vice-chairman Wawruck, under Section 6.1 of the by-laws, assumed the chair.

b. Discussion and possible action on future meeting dates (Section 3 of package)

R. Cabral moved the resolution as presented. **D.** Stein seconded. Vote – unanimous.

6. Formation of future options study committee (Section 4 of package)

a. Nominations for membership on committee

J. Adams nominated MAC representatives from Windsor Locks, Canton, Hartford, East Hartford and Granby. McCoy seconded.

J. Elsesser expressed concern that all five nominees were from the Capitol Region Council of Governments, which is doing its own future options study, yet the Mid-Connecticut Project includes towns from numerous parts of Connecticut. Adams withdrew his nomination of the Granby representative. T. McKeon nominated the representative from Barkhamsted. Vote – unanimous.

- D. Panagore left at 9:31 a.m.
- C. Frigon left at 10:10 a.m.
- M. Bisi left at 10:13 a.m.
- B. Therrien left at 10:21 a.m.
- K. Robbins and W. Smith left at 10:23 a.m.
- 7. Mid-Connecticut Project update CRRA management
 - a. Operational performance
 - i. MSW deliveries and trends (Section 5 of package)
 - ii. Recyclables deliveries and trends (Section 6 of package)

- iii. Plant operational summaries (Section 7 of package)
- iv. Trash Museum report (Section 8 of package)
- b. Financial and variance report (Section 9 of package)
 - i. Update on use of Debt Service Stabilization Fund to provide disposal fee subsidy
 - ii. Update on FY 2009 recycling rebate
- c. Legal update
 - i. MDC-related issues
- d. Legislative update
 - i. Franklin ash landfill legislation

During discussion following the Mid-Connecticut Project update, J. McCoy asked what the CRRA Board of Directors expects to do with regard to ownership of Mid-Connecticut Project facilities following the expiration of the Mid-Connecticut Project Municipal Service Agreements.

- 8. Comments and questions from Municipal Advisory Committee members
- 9. Adjournment

R. Cabral moved to adjourn. T. McKeon seconded. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 10:24 a.m.

CRRA Mid Connecticut Project Municipal Advisory Committee By-laws

Section 3.1. Line 1 - Delete "chief executive officer ("CEO")" and add "chief elected officer ("CEO")".

Section 3.2 New wording - Delegates. The CEO of a city or town may designate a delegate to participate in his or her place. Said delegation shall be made in the form of a letter to the Chairman of the Municipal Advisory Committee ("Chairman"). A single delegate may represent more than on CEO, provided each CEO submits a letter of delegation designating that delegate.

Section 6.1 New wording – Officers of the Municipal Advisory Committee. The Officers of the Municipal Advisory Committee shall be the Chairman and a Vice-Chairman who shall be elected by the majority of members prior to the start of each calendar year.